Knitting · Works In Progress

Knitting W. I. P.

I have been taking a wee break from my sewing and focusing quite a bit on my knitting. I did tape together a PDF pattern that I am testing this morning, but I haven’t decided what fabric I shall be using for it yet. I also purchased some gorgeous fabric over the weekend which is going to be turned into some fun little projects very soon. But for now, I’m going to talk a bit about my current knitting project!

I have been knitting away on a lovely cardigan pattern by Alexa and Emily of Tin Can Knits. It is a free pattern on Ravelry called “The Harvest Cardigan.”

Harvest Cardigan W.I.P 1

Knitting on this project has been so amazing. I was a little stressed and burnt out with sewing, and I knew that I needed to take a short break. I did a little looking around on Ravelry to find a simple knitting pattern that wouldn’t take too much brain work. (Lace and cable patterns were out!) I wanted something that I could work on mindlessly as I watched crafty podcasts or tv. This is a simple top-down, raglan sleeve cardigan.

Harvest Cardigan W.I.P 2

I’m not using super fancy yarn. These are all colors that I have had in my stash for quite some time now. It is Caron Simply soft in “autumn red,” “chocolate,” “pumpkin,” and I no longer have the ball band for the green. I am striping the red, orange, and green by switching them out every eight rows, while the brown makes a beautiful contrast.

Harvest Cardigan W.I.P 3

I have already put the sleeve stitches onto scrap yarn. And after I work a few more increases, I will just have a bit more before working the bottom band. Once that is done, I will have to knit up the sleeves. Hopefully I will have enough of my colorful yarns!

Harvest Cardigan W.I.P 4

Thus far it has been the perfect project. I want to keep knitting and knitting on it! It is a very autumnal color scheme and I cannot wait to cast it off. I have a feeling this cardigan is going to be worn quite regularly this fall!

Harvest Cardigan W.I.P 5

Harvest Cardigan W.I.P 6
All the ends to weave in!

 

Have a jolly day!

~Emily

I'd love to hear any thoughts or comments!

