Challenges · Sewing

Outfit Along 2017: Sewing Plans

I have been a little under the weather today. I woke up in the middle of the night with a horridly painful sore throat. Thankfully, although I did still have to go to work, I was able to come home a little early. And now I am laying in bed eating some cold watermelon to try and soothe my throat.

Watermelon Skirt Sketch3
This is the first sketch I made of a watermelon skirt more than six months ago!

Andi, from Untangling Knots, and Lauren, of LLadybird, announced today that the outfit-along will be taking place this year! For those of you who haven’t a clue what I’m talking about, you can read the introductory posts here and here. To summarize: The outfit along is a sewing/knitting challenge where you knit a garment and sew a garment to make an outfit. Whether it’s a pair of trousers with a knit top, or a dress with a cardigan, as long as the two pieces make an outfit: it works!

I have wanted to participate in the OAL for quite a while, but something has always come up to prevent that from happening. This year I am determined to make an outfit! I thought it might be fun for me to share the sketches I have made of the sewn portion of my outfit. (I will be sharing the knitting bit later.)

Watermelon Skirt Sketch

I have wanted to make a watermelon circle skirt for such a long time. Of all the fruits, watermelon is my favorite! I eat so much of it during the summer. I can eat a whole seedless watermelon by myself in a couple of days. It only makes sense that I show my appreciation of this marvelous fruit by turning it in to a skirt.

Watermelon Skirt Sketch2

I plan to use a self-drafted circle skirt pattern. It is one of the simplest and most flattering skirt styles. Since I will be using different colors, and adding a bit of applique, I wanted to make sure that the base design wasn’t going to give me any trouble. As for the blouse, I haven’t decided if I want to attempt to copy one of my favorite RTW button downs, or if I want to use a normal pattern. Whichever I end up using, I want a basic white blouse with a button placket, collar, and slightly puffed sleeves with cuffs.

Overall, I am quite excited with my outfit plans! I think it is going to turn out beautifully. I will be back soon with my knitwear ideas, but until then

Have a jolly day!

~Emily

2 thoughts on “Outfit Along 2017: Sewing Plans

I'd love to hear any thoughts or comments!

