Life · Sewing

Favorite Makes of 2016

And 2017 has arrived! Strangely enough, I’m decidedly excited about this new year. Normally I get quite morose about time passing so quickly and whatnot, but, at this point, I have several plans prepared for things I want to accomplish in 2017. I’ll be talking  about those on another day, but for now I wanted to take a look back at my top five favorite makes of 2016.

1. Red Gingham Dress

IMG_3129

Out of all the clothes I have made for myself over the years, this red gingham dress is one of my dearest. I grew up watching Rodgers and Hammerstein musicals that were filled with super full, twirly skirts and lots of dancing. This dress was inspired in particular by the film “Seven Brides For Seven Brothers.” I have seen that movie more times than I can count and I still cannot get over all the fantastic dresses. And now, I have one of my own!

2. My Wedding and Reception Dresses

img_1575

One of the most exciting things that happened to me this year was getting married. My husband and I decided on a simple courthouse wedding, and then an informal reception a couple months later. I used the Sewaholic Cambie dress bodice with an added corset style back and self-drafted half circle skirts for both dresses. While I think the dresses could have been better, I am happy that I took the time to make them. It makes once-in-a-lifetime events like this a little more special.

2016-07-15-525-edit-51

3. Burgundy Pastille Dress

img_4899

I made this dress to wear to my brother’s wedding. I don’t know what it is about this dress, but I quite love wearing it. It fits excellently and is thoroughly comfortable. With such compliments, there isn’t much more to say about it!

4. Auden Cardigan

img_3986

This cardigan is one of those garments that I wasn’t sure if it was going to be a success or a terrible failure. My husband tends to be rather difficult to fit when it comes to clothes, so anything I make for him has a higher potential to be a major flop. Thankfully, the Auden Cardigan pattern by Jennifer Lauren Handmade was absolutely perfect. He has worn this cardigan nearly every single day since the weather started cooling down. I am so pleased with how it has held up, and it is lovely to know that I have made my man something that is keeping him toasty and warm.

5. Scottie Dog Circle Skirt

img_5732

Although I made this fairly recently, this skirt has quickly become one of my most loved makes for 2016. It is cosy, soft, and covered in Scottie dogs! How could it go wrong? I have yet to hem it, but I’ve already worn it several times. I’m sure it will get much use throughout this winter.

And those are my top favorite makes of 2016. I am planning to film and post a video talking about all of my 2017 year-long goals by Wednesday. Until then,

Have a jolly day!

~Emily

4 thoughts on “Favorite Makes of 2016

I'd love to hear any thoughts or comments!

