Sewing

Polka Dots: Seamwork Astoria Pattern Review

It seems like all I’m sewing these days is Colette Patterns! Not only do I have another Seamwork make to share, I have a dress and a couple more Negroni shirts that I have been working on. I am definitely keeping busy!

Today I want to show you my version of the Seamwork Magazine Astoria sweater.

img_4720

It isn’t often that I purchase fabric and know exactly what I will be making with it. But with these  sweater knits I knew just what I wanted! I snapped some up when they went on sale at my local Joann. This fabric is so soft and squishy! It feels absolutely amazing to wear. Not scratchy and itchy like some sweaters I’ve owned.

img_4747

One of the best parts about the Astoria sweater is that since it is made with stretch fabric and negative ease, the pattern pieces are relatively small compared with my usual makes. It took barely any time at all to print, glue, and cut out the pdf pages. I actually enjoyed it! There are only four pattern pieces. No darts, zippers, buttons or interfacing. I think I had this stitched up in about thirty minutes including cutting it out from the fabric. All together, pattern preparation and sewing, it was probably an hour.

img_4812

This was absolutely a quick and satisfying sew. I made a size medium without any adjustments. Next time I will lengthen the bodice by an inch or two. I love that this is a cropped sweater, but, for versatility and compatibility with my current wardrobe, I need it just a tad longer.

img_4814

I used a navy sweater knit for the neck and waistband. The pattern doesn’t include separate pieces for the sleeve edges. You are just supposed to turn up the sleeve edge and hem. I knew I wanted to add the contrasting color to the sleeves, so I sewed the pattern as directed. When I got to finishing the sleeves, I cut a piece of the navy fabric that was just slightly smaller than the circumference of the sleeve and stitched it on exactly like the directions said to do the waistband. It was such a simple change, but it made the sweater look exactly like I imagined it!

img_4816

One thing I’m ever so slightly bummed about is the join between the waistband and the main sweater pieces. I must have accidentally stretched it when I was sewing it on my serger. There are a few odd little puckers along that seam. It doesn’t bother me much, I will just try to remember to be more careful about it on my next version.

img_4819

Overall, I would give Astoria 4/5 stars! It was such a lovely break from all the crazy Christmas projects I’ve been working on, and it gave my sewing mojo the perfect little boost that it needed. I do want to make three or four more to round out my fall/winter wardrobe, but I am waiting for the fabric to go on sale again. I can’t help it. . . I’m too cheap to pay full price!

img_4830

Don’t forget, I have another podcast episode coming up tomorrow! I have several lovely things to show off, but that’s all for today.

img_4832

Jolly day to you!

~Emily

I'd love to hear any thoughts or comments!

