Movie Fashion Inspiration

Movie Fashion Inspiration: Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow (2004)

Today marks the beginning of an ongoing blog post series called Movie Fashion Inspiration. Basically, I am going to be featuring screen shots of movies or tv shows that I find to be encouraging to my sewing/fashion dreams. Some might be well known, others might be obscure, weird films. The only requirement is that at some point, I am inspired enough to wish to share it all with you!

That being said, allow me to introduce to you the first movie, Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow!

MV5BMTIzMTAxOTc0M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzc3NzUyMQ@@._V1_

I randomly decided to watch this movie when I searched for Gwyneth Paltrow on Netflix, and it popped up. It is bizarre and weird, but overall, a thoroughly fantastic movie! It is full of robots, odd lighting, and beautiful hair styles. Case in point:

MV5BMjExMzkxODk1MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTA4ODAzMw@@._V1_SX1777_CR0,0,1777,992_AL_

Her hair is so fabulous! It’s long, glossy, and perfectly curled. I won’t deny it, I had some serious hair envy going on while I was watching the film. (We won’t even talk about Jude Law’s equally perfectΒ style. . .)

1035full-sky-captain-and-the-world-of-tomorrow-photo

In addition to flawless hair, our heroine also wears the most impeccable suits. I had a hard time finding good photos of them. None of the pictures really show the details.

MV5BMTQzNDg4NDYwMl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjA4ODAzMw@@._V1_SX1777_CR0,0,1777,999_AL_

I am not a huge fan of the almost ’80s or maybe ’90s mutton sleeve look of her main suit, it reminds me too much of Anne’s blue dress in the 1985 Anne of Green Gables movie. But the lovely collar, welt pockets, and slight flare of her jacket more than make up for it!

MV5BMTc1NzUzMjExOV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwMTUyNzQ3._V1_

I love the tailored 1940’s look, especially when it is combined with that elegant hairstyle and her simple hat. Gwyneth Paltrow wears two or three different suits or jackets throughout the movie, but her over all style is just structured perfection.

MV5BMTgyOTkwNDI2NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwOTU3ODAzMw@@._V1_SX1777_CR0,0,1777,999_AL_

That’s all I have to say about this film. There were so few costumes, I had an easy time of it!

Jolly day to you!

~Emily

*Pictures found on IMDB

I'd love to hear any thoughts or comments!

