Life · Outfits · Sewing

Snowflakes and Buttons: Butterick 6018

IMG_3035

Hello Everybody,

First off, I want to share some links to fellow sewing blogger, Casey Maura. Casey used to run the gorgeous blog Elegant Musings before she switched it over to Casey Maura. She was one of the very first people who inspired me to begin sewing when I was right in the middle of that hormonal, depressed teenager phase. I would go so far as to say that she “encouraged” me to not give up, and reminded me that there was still a lot of beauty in the world. If you are looking for some amazing sewing/knitting inspiration, watch these podcast videos. I LOVE watching them, and I am so glad she decided to start this series. She is such a lovely lady, and, literally, the most adorable pregnant woman I have seen in a long time!

Creative Musings Episode 1

Creative Musings Episode 2

IMG_3040

I am writing today about another variation of Butterick 6018. I made this dress a couple of days before Christmas last year because I wanted a dress to wear for Christmas that wasn’t SUPER Christmasy. I succumbed to the lure of Christmas fabric sales in Joann’s one day, and purchased enough fabric to make dresses for two of my sisters and me. Unfortunately, I didn’t end up having enough time to finish all of them in two days. Procrastination can be so bothersome at times!

IMG_3043

I love this dress pattern! It is so simple and easy, but very flattering. I always omit the sleeves since I haven’t been able to make them fit correctly without digging into the front of my arm/shoulder. Other than that, I made it pretty much exactly the same as all the other variations. I decided to vary the sleeve finishes this time by adding a wide bias binding trim to the edge. It ended up almost mimicking the collar at the back of the dress, which I really love. The fabric is a standard quilting cotton that I washed and dried before sewing.

IMG_3048

IMG_3052

I will note, I think this is the best variation of the sweetheart neckline I have had yet. I learned, by watching a Craftsy class, that I haven’t been clipping close enough to the stitching line when turning an inward point like this. I clipped as close as I possibly could on this dress. I wanted it to press out nice and flat. The facing still wants to flip to the front a little, so I might not have under stitched it correctly. Ah, well. Lesson learned for next time!

IMG_3059

IMG_3066

There really isn’t much more to tell you about the dress, but I do have a little bit of news. I have managed to find a second sewing instructor job at a local sewing store! I am so excited! It is quite a fantastic little place. The owners are a husband and wife team which makes the whole store feel quite family-like. I won’t be teaching my first class there until September, but I have a feeling that this will be an absolutely fabulous opportunity!

IMG_3069

Also, I am currently signed up to take a pattern drafting class in September! I have been wanting to learn pattern drafting for years now, almost ever since I began sewing. It is going to last from late September to sometime in November. I am hoping I will learn a ton. I want to be able to draft and design my own patterns, and maybe, someday, I’ll be able to sell my own patterns. That would definitely be a dream come true!

IMG_3072

IMG_3075

I’ll be back soon with the most adorable dress I have ever sewn! Seriously, it is so cute that I want to wear it all the time. I also have some news on the wedding front. Stay tuned!

Jolly day to you!

~Emily

P.S.

 

I'd love to hear any thoughts or comments!

