Life · Wedding

I am Engaged!

Hello my dear readers,

I promise that I have not been intentionally neglecting you! I have been so busy the past couple of months, and with good reason:

I am engaged to the most amazing man in the whole world!

IMG_1837

All of these pictures were taken before he proposed. I had absolutely NO idea! Evan, that is my handsome fiancé’s name, had been planning this for almost a month beforehand.

IMG_0505

He proposed to me in this little gazebo that overlooked a lake. The refreshing breeze would come sweeping across the water and waft over us as we sat. There were birds chirping in the trees all around us, and there were no people around to cause disruptions. It was the perfect, dreamy, period drama setting.

(Tulips are my favorite flowers, so I was rather excited when I saw bed after bed of these gorgeous lovelies. )

IMG_0529

When we visited Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden last fall, we found the gazebo and while we were sitting in it, Evan commented on how it would be the perfect place to propose. I wholeheartedly agreed, but I had no idea it would end up being the place where we got engaged!

IMG_0533

We were sitting in the gazebo enjoying the cool shade after walking about in the sunshine. I asked him if he wanted to propose more now than he had last time we sat there. He said yes quite emphatically. Teasingly, I declared it was unfortunate as he hadn’t got a ring, unless it was hidden on him somewhere! I playfully patted his pockets to show him that he definitely couldn’t propose. Suddenly, he leaned over and reached into his bag. For a split second, I thought, wait, does he actually have a ring? But then I reassured myself that I was being silly, there was no way he was planning to propose. He was probably just going to pull out something silly and pretend it was a ring. (We had a running joke about rings.) Next thing I knew, he was pulling a little blue velvet box out of his bag. . .

IMG_0534

I was shocked, surprised, amazed, you name it! I couldn’t believe this was actually happening. His voice quavered just a bit as he asked the question I had convinced myself I would never hear:

“Emily, will you marry me?”

IMG_1832

I just nodded my head and buried my face in his shoulder and cried. I couldn’t believe it! I didn’t even look at the ring. I asked him over and over if he was really sure this was what he wanted. He finally said that if I asked again he might change his response! When I finally looked at the ring, it was just the prettiest and most perfect ring I had ever seen. You know how in all the movies, the ring ends up fitting the girl perfectly and you sit back and think, “Yeah right! There is no way he would have known the exact size to get her! It wouldn’t have fit.” Well, it came as a pleasant surprise that the ring actually did fit me perfectly! He had been a little worried that it wouldn’t, but it did!

IMG_1835

So that is the whole of it! I have some engagement pictures that I will be posting later. I am right in the midst of planning a wedding, which explains the sporadic (at best!) posting. I have a couple of rather neat sewing projects to share too!

Jolly day to you!

~Emily

 

I'd love to hear any thoughts or comments!

