Outfits · Sewing

Wisteria and Spring Breezes: McCalls 6891

IMG_1645

Spring was in full force, and the wisteria was blooming everywhere! Photographer Sister was in town, so a photo shoot was required. The local library has a gorgeous building outside that is just covered in wisteria. I knew I wanted to get some pictures there while it was all in bloom, so things ended up working out really well.

IMG_1659

IMG_1673

This is another variation of McCalls 6891. At least, the bodice is. . . The skirt is self-drafted. I added some little ruffles to replace the sleeves. I tend to have a very difficult time fitting sleeves. I’m not sure why, but I always end up with the armhole digging into my arm. It is really uncomfortable, so I usually just omit the sleeves and add lace or a binding.

IMG_1678

IMG_1680

The fabric is a sturdy cotton that I picked up at the thrift store sometime last year. I couldn’t tell if it was originally a sheet, curtain, or just a length of partially used fabric. Whatever it was, it was perfect for a nice springy dress!

IMG_1682

IMG_1684

IMG_1690

I don’t have too much more to say. I didn’t make any changes to the bodice other than a minor sway back adjustment, but I think I need to add a small FBA. It isn’t terribly obvious, but it is a bit snug over the bust.

IMG_1704

IMG_1718

I have a couple more sewing and knitting projects that will be making their way to the blog in the next couple of weeks. I expect to be pretty busy over the next few months due to a fantastic adventure that has begun, the details of which I will be sharing soon. (It involves this dress.) I am quite excited to tell you my story, but I must have pictures first. I think you all will enjoy it!

IMG_1721

Isn’t the wisteria lovely?

Jolly day to you!

~Emily

I'd love to hear any thoughts or comments!

