Sewing · Vintage-Inspired

Orange Stripes: The Jenna Muse Cardi

IMG_1554

Hello all! Haven’t I been just the busiest lady recently? I have been working, and sewing quite a bit. Today for your viewing pleasure, I have two garments to display. The first is the Jenna Cardi by Muse Patterns. I purchased this pattern quite some time ago, but I had to wait until I could find the proper fabric for a reasonable price, and work up the courage to attempt it!

IMG_1570

I found this fabric in the Red Tag Clearance section at Joann while it was on a 50% off sale. I cannot remember how much I ended up paying per yard, but it was only somewhere around $3/yard. It was quite the bargain! It is a cotton and spandex mix, if I recall correctly. It was absolutely lovely to work with. It didn’t shift all over the place, and had the perfect amount of stretch.

IMG_1579

I sewed up a straight size 36 without any odd pattern adjustments. I used view B with the 3/4 sleeves, and the waist length. I love this cardigan! It is exactly what I have been looking for as I scoured the thrift stores. It fits perfectly, and was no where near as difficult to sew as I thought it would be. The only problem I have now is that I want about ten of them, and I do not have the funds to afford all that fabric!

IMG_1580

The two yards of fabric that the pattern called for was a very generous amount. I was able to sew up a t-shirt from the leftovers, and still had enough to make a headband and hair bow! This is the sweetheart t-shirt from Gertie Sews Vintage Casual. This is my fifth or sixth version of her pattern. It fits well, and is a super quick sew. I managedΒ to sew both the cardigan and the t-shirt in one day.

IMG_1583

IMG_1597

I used basic white buttons that I happened to have on hand from a recent visit to a closing Hancock Fabrics store. I think they worked perfectly.

IMG_1599

IMG_1608

IMG_1611

IMG_1622

That’s all I have for you wonderful readers today. Keep your eyes open for another post soon. I made Photographer Sister the most beautiful dress! I cannot wait to share it with you.

IMG_1630

Jolly day to you!

~Emily

One thought on “Orange Stripes: The Jenna Muse Cardi

I'd love to hear any thoughts or comments!

