Life · Outfits

Happy St. Patrick’s Day: 2016

IMG_1234

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day! My life has been all sorts of topsy-turvy lately. It’s interesting how there are certain times in your life where it feels as if absolutely nothing is going right, and you wonder how you are going to make it until tomorrow. That is how it has felt around here lately! So I am here today to say that there are some things, small ones, that do go right.

IMG_1276

The weather is delightfully springy around here. I have been enjoying it immensely! Due to my family moving out of state, photographers have been woefully lacking. Today I decided to experiment, and try to take some pictures myself with my phone so that the holiday would’t go completely unacknowledged. I was able to tape the phone to the house wall and use the photo burst timer. Granted, I did not come up with this idea on my own. Shannon from Adventures of a Young Seamstress mentioned doing this a while ago.

IMG_1283

Surprisingly enough, it ended up working out rather well. No, the pictures aren’t perfect, but they aren’t too shabby either, and they get the point across.

IMG_1292

In honor of the day, I crocheted up a few shamrocks following Bella Coco’s tutorial, and Happy Berry Crochet’s tutorial. Due to the circumstances I hinted at before, I was unable to sew up a gorgeous green St. Patty’s day dress, but I was at least able to wear some green. No pinches for me!

IMG_1307

In a way, it was convenient that I wasn’t able to sew up something new. I randomly decided to wear this outfit, and it actually coordinates much better than I would have expected it to. Overall, I am rather pleased with it, and plan to wear it again.

IMG_1316

The skirt is the self-drafted one I mentioned here, and the shirt is one I picked up at Goodwill with a pair of jean capris for $6. If that isn’t a steal, I don’t know what is! I also got the shoes with another pair of eyelet flats at Goodwill for $5 each. I was so happy when I found them. I have been looking for a pair of white shoes to wear in the spring and summer for quite some time, it was quite serendipitous that I found not one, but two pairs at once! Although the lighting makes it difficult to see them, I am also wearing a pair of green lizard earrings that I purchased at a thrift store for $2.

IMG_1327

IMG_1330

IMG_1339

IMG_1341

Anywho, that’s all I’ve got to say!

Jolly day to you!

~Emily

I'd love to hear any thoughts or comments!

