Life · Sewing

Valentine’s Day 2016

DSC_0001

Valentine’s Day started cold and slightly windy, but mellowed out enough to enable my sister and I to snap these pictures without extreme discomfort. 

DSC_0010

Little Sister’s outfit is something I sewed up in the last couple of days before Christmas so she could wear it for Christmas Eve. The dress has a simple tiered skirt and the bodice is the same as these dresses with further modifications made to account for growth spurts during the year. The pants are also the same as these, but slightly adjusted because of the afore mentioned growth spurts. It was pretty easy to sew up, and a very fun project with just enough changes to make it vaguely challenging.

DSC_0025

DSC_0040

DSC_0052

DSC_0057

My skirt is a basic, gathered skirt with a slight flare. I so wish that I had had enough of this fabric to make a novelty style circle skirt! Unfortunately, with only 1.75 yards, there was nowhere near enough. I don’t know how much I’ll end up wearing this skirt since gathered skirts are not my favorite, but the print was so adorable that I couldn’t  resist.

DSC_0060

DSC_0066

I love scottie dogs, and have been wanting some sort of scottie dog fabric for quite a while now. My older sister, Kristin, and I were at Joann Fabrics the other day, and amongst the red tag fabrics, which happened to be 50% off, she found this lovely stuff. I knew immediately that I had to buy it. So I did. I am really looking forward to wearing it this spring/summer when the weather is a bit more pleasant.

DSC_0069

DSC_0070

DSC_0080

Jolly day to you!

~Emily

I'd love to hear any thoughts or comments!

