Sewing

Two Self-Drafted Skirts

DSC_1129

I made up these two skirts last summer. They are both “self-drafted” of a sorts. . . I just measured, and marked out some gores on the fabric. Both skirts are made from quilting cotton that I purchased at Joann. (The bike skirt is made from this quilting cotton, but I cannot find the tulip fabric online.)

DSC_1141

The bike skirt only has four gores due to a cutting mishap. I am not used to using directional prints, so I accidentally cut two gores upside down. I ended being able to remedy the situation by adding godets between the panels to increase the fullness a little. And I was still able to have in-seam pockets! I was so relieved that I managed to correct the problem so easily.

DSC_1131

DSC_1072 - Version 2

I originally intended to make a dress out of this tulip fabric; therefore, I bought three yards. When it came down to it, I decided to make a skirt, and since I had three yards I had more than enough fabric to make a full skirt with a ruffle and pockets. What could be better? I do actually wear this skirt more than the other one.

DSC_1079

The t-shirts that I’m wearing with these skirts are made from the sweetheart t-shirt pattern in Gertie Sews Vintage Casual. I found that with the two yards fabric requirement, I could cut two, almost three shirts! I used a cheaper, 60″ knit fabric from Joann Fabrics similar to this one.

DSC_1103

DSC_1108

I’ve made three of these shirts so far, and found them to be extremely versatile. I wear them all the time. I fully intend to make more as soon as my budget can withstand it. The only change I would make to the pattern is to raise the neck an inch or so. I prefer to wear clothes that have less of a chance of wardrobe malfunctions. . .

DSC_1115

DSC_1118

Jolly day to you!

~Emily

7 thoughts on “Two Self-Drafted Skirts

  1. Hello, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam comments?

    If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you
    can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any assistance
    is very much appreciated.

    Like

I'd love to hear any thoughts or comments!

