Sewing

Gertie Sews Vintage Casual: Zipper-Front Dress

DSC_1020

Although I do not have a sewing machine, I have quite the backlog of projects from last summer/autumn. This is the zipper front dress from Gretchen Hirsch’s popular book, Gertie Sews Vintage Casual. I made it last summer for an outdoor event hosted by my employer.

DSC_1022

DSC_1023

I don’t remember precisely which size I made, but I did have to make some adjustments. I wondered, prior to making the dress, if I would need a FBA; it is usually necessary. Due to the different pattern design, I couldn’t quite figure out how to manage it, so I took a risk. It worked almost perfectly, but, I ended up having to seriously reduce the seam allowance around the bust, and it is still quite snug. Thankfully, it is entirely wearable!

DSC_1036

DSC_1045

The fabric is a simple quilting cotton from Joann, with fuchsia piping and a centered fuchsia zipper. I do like to collar! It is quite different from most dress collars, and I appreciate that. The pattern and directions were a pleasure to work with! I love using Gretchen Hirsch’s patterns. I am always quite excited to see her new designs, and I cannot wait until her new book comes out in March.

DSC_1052

DSC_1055

The dress is a little shorter than I expected, and if I make another, I shall definitely lengthen it. Overall, it was a simple project which made it a breeze to stitch up. I have been thinking about making up another once I own a sewing machine again!

DSC_1059

Jolly day to you!

~Emily

One thought on “Gertie Sews Vintage Casual: Zipper-Front Dress

I'd love to hear any thoughts or comments!

